sunnudagur, maí 23, 2010

Classic Icelandic Albums (CIA) # 1: "... lifun" by Trúbrot

More new ideas. Posting about Icelandic Masterworks / Classic Icelandic Albums aka CIA.
First one is made by the hippie rock band, supergroup Trúbrot. The band who made a progressive concept album back in 1971, the year of my birth. They started rehearsing in a garage @ Laugavegur shopping street in January. The 13 songs on the album chronologing life from birth to death.
Concept: from the cradle to the grave, and the influence of the environment on that unnamed person.
CIA # 1
Trúbrot "....Lifun" (1971)
The band Trúbrot was formed in 1969 @ Keflavík & disbanded in 1973.
Members were:
Rúnar Júlíusson (vocals, bass), Gunnar Þórðarson (guitar), Gunnar Jökull Hákonarson (drums, 1969-70, 1971-72), Karl Sighvatsson (keyboards, 1969-70, 1971-72), Shady Owens (vocals, 1969-70, 1971), Ólafur Garðarsson (drums, 1970-71), Magnús Kjartansson (keyboards, vocals, 1970-73), Engilbert Jensen (vocals, 1972-73), Ari Jónsson (drums, vocals, 1972-73), Vignir Bergmann (guitar, 1972-73)
"...Lifun" Album (LP) was released on Tónaútgáfan Label on 29. June 1971.
Reissued as CD on Geimsteinn Label in 1991.
Members on the album "...Lifun" were:
Rúnar Júlíusson (vocals, bass), Gunnar Þórðarson (vocals, guitar), Gunnar Jökull Hákonarson (drums, percussion), Karl Sighvatsson (orgel) & Magnús Kjartansson (piano, vocals).
Octagonal album cover was designed by Baldvin Haldórsson
Copies Sold: 6200
Recorded @ Morgan Studios, Sound Techniques, London with Jerry Boys
Jerry Boys has worked with The Beatles, Pink Floyd & Rolling Stones.
Side 1
1. Forleikur (Lives overture)
2. Margfölf er lifun er lifum við ein
3. Hush-a-Bye
4. To be Grateful
5. School complex
6. Tangerine Girl
7. Am I Really Livin'

Side 2
1. Forleikur (Circulation)
2. What We Believe in
3. Is there a Hope for Tomorrow
4. Just Another Face
5. Old Man
6. Death and Finale

Engin ummæli: